Hike the CT to Rebuild Trails

Hike the Colorado Trail in 2014 and raise money to rebuild trails that were destroyed in the September 2013 flood. Read on to find out how.

In addition to destroying homes and highways, the 2013 flood in Northern Colorado demolished many beloved hiking trails in the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests. Several of these damaged trails are favorites of mine that I have been hiking for 10 years with family, friends, kids, dogs, horses and alone. My kids and I have camped along these trails, and they are very special to us.

My son’s first backpacking trip when he was 7, on the now destroyed North Fork Trail.

Seeing the destruction of these trails first made me cry, then prompted me to action. I contacted Fred Allen at the Arapaho Roosevelt Pawnee Foundation and confirmed that they are currently gathering information about the damage to trails and making plans to reconstruct them. They will need LOTS of volunteers to complete all the work, and those volunteers will need materials, tools, gloves, lunch, and watermelon at the end of the day. I told Fred that I would put together a fundraiser with 100% of donations going to ARPF to ensure that these trails are reconstructed and not forgotten.

Pictures I took 11/22/13 showing three washed out bridges on the North Fork Trail.

So, in July of 2014, I will take on the personal challenge of completing a nearly 500-mile thru-hike of the Colorado Trail from Denver to Durango. I will finance the journey myself, but I will raise money through Crowdrise for ARPF before and during my 4-6 week hike. Here is my fundraising site: Hiking the CT for Trail Reconstruction.

I am now calling all hikers, friends, family, and anyone else who is willing to visit my fundraising site and do one or more of the following:

  1. Sponsor me per mile – a nickel a mile is just $25, a dollar a mile is $500.
  2. Make a dollar donation in any amount you choose.
  3. Join my Crowdrise team! Make the commitment to hike the Colorado Trail or a section of it in the summer of 2014 and raise money for trail reconstruction.

Crowdrise does charge a small fee (3%) to charitable organizations for their online service, but this way donations go straight to ARPF to rebuild trails and not to me. So you can be certain that your money will be used to purchase necessary materials, tools, and volunteer meals to help rebuild these beautiful stream-side trails for us all to enjoy for years to come.

Thank you, and feel free to post a comment if you have a question about this fundraiser.

This entry was posted in Trail Reconstruction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

